Just Your Average Visiting Teaching Failure

Formal visiting teaching is still fairly new to me. Back in my rural Montana ward, we were so far from the church it was easiest done by checking in on people as we went about our daily routines. We were assigned to visit teach each other…I’d visit my sister-in-law and she would visit me. Occasionally we’d have dinner at another sister’s home and all take part in discussing the lesson. There was no point in going out of our way to teach the same lesson to each other by her coming to my house and I to hers so we’d just see each other at the post office or the general store and discuss what’s going on in our lives and make sure every family’s needs were met.

Needless to say the laid back teaching paired with my introvertive tendency made visit teaching to Utah County standards was quite difficult for me. In the three years I’ve lived here, I’ve gone to visit sisters half a dozen times. It was most often due to a scheduling conflict where I could only be gone from home during the day and my companion during the evening. One of my companions whose schedule was opposite of mine, text me late on a Saturday evening and suggested we go early in the morning before church on Sunday. I’m embarrassed to say I let her have it. Honestly though, who in their right mind asks a mother of five to go visiting sisters before 10 am services on a Sunday morning in the middle of winter? Someone without children that’s who! Bless her heart…and her family with multiple children so that one day she may be asked the same absurd question by another clueless sister.

Ward boundaries were recently changed and new assignments handed out and I’m blessed to be paired with one of my besties who is as introvertive as I am. She has a strong testimony in many things and is an outstanding teacher. I feel very luck and at ease to have her as my teaching companion. I figured it to be easy as I’ll just follow her lead, but of course there’s yet another reason we are such great friends–her lack of visiting teaching is similar to mine.

Last month, sharing the  October Message was a success for us. We made pumpkin bread, printed calling cards on magnetic sheets and went out to meet our assigned sisters. It worked so well we decided that she’d work on the lesson and I’d work on the crafty to go with it. So the new month is here and no cutesy crafty ideas are to be found online. It’s that time of year when we reflect on all of the conference talks and choose a message that best suits our sisters and their family.

Oh, man! I didn’t listen to most of conference. I forgot to renew my Ensign subscription over the summer while I was busy dealing with medical issues. It’s a wonderful thing to live just a few miles away from the nearest distribution center so I can pick up my conference edition and mark the highlights. In the meantime, I’m listening to the playback and grateful that all talks are available online.

 

Leave a Reply

